top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJafet Issachar Ramos Junio

Chapter 2: Adjust, Adapt, and Survive

Updated: Sep 19, 2018

"Adjust and adapt to your environment and surroundings and you will survive wherever you go."

Introducing myself to the faculty of SMA Pembangunan

I observed the class on my first day in SMA Pembangunan (UNP Laboratory Senior High School). I was given the following days to teach.

Observing the class during my first day

"Hallo ananda! Nama bapak Jafet. Bapak dari Philipina!," this was my usual line when I introduce myself to the students.

On my right side was my cooperating teacher, Ibuk Dean Roslaini.

My Lesson Plan

Topic: Biodiversity

Grade Level: Grade 11

Lesson Plan format of my sending university (Saint Louis University)


Before I proceeded to my lesson, I first gave a motivation so that the students will have an idea of our lesson and for them to be motivated.


I based my motivation to the mobile application '4 pics 1 word.' Answer: Ecosystem

Then we started the lesson by defining terms and giving examples. To keep the attention of the students, I asked them to read the definition of terms posted on my power point presentation. After every discussion, I asked them if they have any questions about the topic.

To assess if they really understood the lesson, I followed the discussion with an activity. The activity was a 'picture analysis.' The students will observe and analyze the picture then they will complete the table based on their observation on the picture.


Students' Activity: Picture Analysis with Tabular Presentation

Observing the students do their activity

And for their follow up activity to enhance their knowledge about the subject matter I gave them an assignment: 'Draw an ecosystem consisting of the following components: producers, primary consumers, secondary consumers, decomposers, and abiotic components.'

A criteria for scoring was also provided so that the students will know the standard scoring of their assignment.


Students' assignment with the Criteria for scoring

My students doing their activity

Checking the assignments of the students
Checking the assignments of the students

I also tried to learn the lesson plan of UNP. Here is the sample lesson plan.

It was not that hard to adjust to the students since all of them were nice and they were actively participating in my activities. The only challenge that came up was the language barrier. But with the help of my buddies translating for me I included Indonesian translations in my powerpoint presentation.


Sample page of my powerpoint presentation

And with the help of my mentor, my buddies, and the God above, I was able to adjust and adapt quickly to the people around me and to my surroundings.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page