top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJafet Issachar Ramos Junio

Epilogue: Forever grateful

Updated: Sep 19, 2018

"The life that we live is the legacy that we will leave"


I joined the SEA Teacher Exchange Student Program because I want to hone myself especially my skills in teaching since I am to be a future educator. I want to learn different strategies, techniques, approaches, and methodologies done by teachers in other countries. I also want to share the skills and knowledge that I have learned in our University.

I also want to learn about the cultures of other countries. I want to experience conversing with other people from other countries and to experience their way of life.


I was allowed to use the format of my lesson plan or teaching plan of our University. Through this I will be able to share the content of our lesson plan. I also learned the format of their lesson plan. Before I teach in class, I will have to give my lesson plan to my cooperating teacher. My cooperating teacher will evaluate my teaching using the evaluation form given by the SEAMEO. She will give her recommendations and suggestions for my improvement.


Through out the duration of my practicum in Indonesia, I can say that I have learned and experienced so many things. I have learned that inside a classroom, you have a wide variety of students. All of them have their own way of learning so as a teacher you should be creative enough to think of proper strategies and techniques in teaching these students. The practicum experience here have helped me to become a better teacher. Besides from the experience gained, I have learned many skills which I can use and share here in my country.


The greatest challenge of all is the 'language barrier.' I had a hard time communicating with my students and also to other people. I'm very blessed to have my Mentor with me to help me translate some English words for them to understand more.

We also utilized the use of technology for communication. We were allowed to use 'Google Translate' to help us communicate with each other.


Being part of the SEA Teacher Exchange Student Program is one of the best experiences I had in my entire existence. This program is very recommendable to every pre-service teacher that would like to experience teaching different students. If only I would be given another chance to join the program I would gladly take the opportunity. This is one of the highlights in my life that I would cherish forever. I will keep on encouraging other pre-service teachers to join the program.


I would only suggest that you would increase the duration of the program because based from my experience one month was not enough for me to learn everything. If I had the chance to stay a little bit longer I will. It would also be good if other countries will be invited to join the program. More participants more collaboration and more knowledge and skills to share.


 

Before I left SMA Pembangunan, the faculty had a short program for me. They extended their gratitude for having me there. I also gave a short speech just to say thank you to all of them. The teachers were very kind and very accommodating.


Giving my gratitude to the faculty

They were also kind enough to give me a token from the school.


Receiving the token from SMA Pembangunan

Token from SMA Pembangunan

I am very proud to be a participant of the SEA Teacher Batch 6. Through this program, I was able to meet people who have inspired and motivated me. I learned many lesson from them. I want to extend my gratitude to all of these people who have helped me, supported me, and accompanied me during my stay in Padang, Indonesia.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page