top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJafet Issachar Ramos Junio

Chapter 3: Holding on

Updated: Sep 19, 2018

"A good teacher, like a good entertainer first must hold his audience's attention, then he can teach his lesson." -John Henrik Clarke

Facilitating the students as they do their motivation activity

My Lesson Plan

Topic: Classification of Organisms

Grade Level: Grade 11

Lesson Plan format of my sending university (Saint Louis University)


Before I proceeded to the next lesson I gave a short review of the discussion last meeting to ensure that they did not forget the lesson.

Then after the short review, I gave the motivation to the students.

The motivation is that the students will work with their group mates. They will solve the picture puzzle and post it on the board. They will try to brainstorm with their group mates of what the picture is indicating.

The students doing the motivation activity

Monitoring the progress of the students

The students posting the result of their picture puzzle

After the motivational activity, we processed if the answers are correct. Then we started with the discussion.

To maintain the attention of the students I let them read the definitions on my powerpoint presentation. I see to it that all of them are paying attention of what I am saying.


After the discussion, I gave them a recitation activity. The students will write the letter of the picture to the correct column. After the activity, we processed if the answers are correct.



To promote cooperation and collaboration among the students I gave them a group activity. Every group will be given a chance to identify the kingdom of the organism shown. One member of the group will write their answers on the board. Then we will check if the answers of the students are correct.


Answer of the students in their group activity

For their overall evaluation, I gave them questions to answer. The answer of the questions can be found in the 'Word Hunt!' puzzle. They will write their answers on their papers.


'Word Hunt!' and the questions to be answered

I collected the papers of the students at the end of the period. Then I gave a short summary of the things that we have learned today.

Checking the papers of the students

I have concluded that if you want to maintain the attention of the students, you should have a variety of activities for them. Classes should be student-centered and also teacher-centered. Students will learn more if they will do an activity after every discussion. So you have to hold on to your students' attention first then you can teach your lesson.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page